Tying it all together

Waaay too much happened in the last six weeks to clue you all in flirtatiously. I’m going to get right down to detailing the business of winterizing this casita from the comfort of my 120-degree bath while Bella shivers around 30 outside and sealed fascia boards lie drying in an artificially-suitable 60-degree basement.

That’s right, winter is arriving and all of the fun and elation and stress of a colorful fall existence must be put to rest in lieu of hard, cold, short, grunty days working to get the casita enclosed.

Before leaving for my New England adventure my dad and I hustled to get the plywood decking on the roof. We succeeded smoothly and got all but one small strip on. The monkey-gym stage of exposed roof rafters was super fun as I was swinging around the casita rather effortlessly and building up impressive arm muscles to boot (BTW why are people always surprised by how strong I am? Like just because I weigh 120 pounds and I’m a girl, I can’t be diesel?) but now the house is taking on a more solid and stately disposition that requires constant use of a ladder. Each stage has it’s own nature, for sure. Anyway, sheathing the roof was probably the smoothest (and stickiest) anything on this build has gone yet and it created an interesting spaciousness in time that I enjoyed and found strange simultaneously. My trip was amazing, coming home was hard, and we scrambled to get the Tyvek immediately on before Hurricane Sandy hit. We were successful and only had a few rips and one sizeable leak on my I’m-sure-rotten-by-now-floor when all was said and done.

Then I scrambled to finish sheathing the roof and get a ridge vent & tar paper on it after deciding Snow Shield was too expensive to justify. I did all of that by myself during another incredibly stressful few days that I managed my way ungracefully through. 😉 On the upside I was raging too hard to be scared of heights, not even a little, and I realized anger is a great motivator and stress a great sleep-reducer, both of which reaaaallllly explain the state of our world.

Dripping in paint and stain samples, I think I’ve decided to use the chemy stuff on my exterior siding, which BTW I ordered last week in a compromise of 1×8 white pine shiplap for $750ish out the door. The chemy stain lasts twice as long, is $30/gallon less expensive, looked nicer, requires one coat instead of two, and is moderately low in VOC’s anyway. Compromise and Pix have thus been mentioned in the same sentence with a smile on my face, inner-critic take note.

I learned and spent more than anticipated on fancy drip edge to accommodate my corrugated roofing and realized I needed to attach roof fascias (and seal them) and drip edge before I could put the actual roofing on, much to my grumbling, which I’m now in the middle of. Tomorrow I should be able to finish that up or come close and on Friday/Sat I hope to get some metal up there and NEVER have to use a tarp on my little Bella ever ever ever again.

Then I’ll be sealing up the leaky wheel wells, putting up rainwall, staining siding, installing windows, painting trim, and finishing my door (which I’ve also been working on) en route to siding/sealing the house. I’m really enjoying two things cropping up in this section of the build: One is that, in contrast to the beginning, where progress was relatively linear and you really have to do one thing before you can do another, whether you like it or not – now there are so many different things I can work on all at once that it’s great for my flickering mind. I can be stripping the door, cutting fascia, and stapling tar paper all simultaneously. It feels as though the experience is opening up. The second thing I’m enjoying is getting closer and closer to interior and finishing work. No more brute construction; it’s getting finer. Honestly, the brute stuff really stresses me out. Maybe it’s too much banging, cutting, shooting, and hitting for this girl’s gentle sensibilities. But regardless, it will be fun to be inside doing detail work and being able to listen to music on occasion without constant power tools.

Like a turtle. Several people who started building tiny after me are already way ahead. But I don’t regret a trip to Cali, a sit, and reunion with old friends and beautiful music in exchange for tardiness. Just need to make it work here until I can tow Bella and me away, away.

As a side note for those of you not very much in-touch with the interwebs, I’ve been much more attentive to My Public via the Casita’s Facebook page, at www.facebook.com/CasitaBella. Go there if these infrequent blog posts have you craving for more riveting build pictures and thoughts.

Hope I have somethin shiny to show you next time, y’all!

4 thoughts on “Tying it all together

  1. Wow! So exciting. It’s looking great. I love the tip on how to keep critters out of crawling in the roof vent. Dfinitely gonna do that now myself. I can’t stand rodents IN my living space, or hearing them scurry in walls or ceilings.

    • Thanks Meg! Yeah, Dee Williams talks a bit about ridge venting in her great ebook Go House Go. I haven’t heard others mention it… Good luck!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

