Materials en route

20120503-223245.jpg

Springtime has arrived!

It’s been a busy week for the casita bella with some decisions made about materials (you can be sure I was dragging my feet somewhat throughout). I finally bit the bullet and bought my insulation which is in transit as we speak from Oregon Shepherd. Jordy over there was super helpful and patient, and helped keep the whole process light and hilarious which I adored of course. They seem to just be getting some real momentum going with this tiny house movement and are getting things in order accordingly. They’re open to feedback, which is nice to hear from a company whether up and coming or not; Sometimes I feel a bit like what I imagine food critics to feel like with regard to retail policies and customer service experience… I know I have sharp, high standards and it’s always a true joy to come across companies that, although not perfect, are striving to be better.

As a side note: I was like a deer in the headlights deciding between wool insulation and recycled ISO rigid foam. Off-the-shelf rigid insulation would cost in the neighborhood of $1200 as I’ve previously mentioned, which is more than I wanted to spend. The recycled rigid foam is once-used, so theoretically it has settled and off-gassed about as much as it’s going to, a plus to me. The company that sells it, Insulation Depot, was easy, pleasant, and generous to deal with. They located some suitable boards just over in Jersey for me for $600 picked up. But once I factored in renting a truck or van to get it, (turns out building even a tiny house without a truck is quite a challenge in itself!) it would have been about $700 and that’s only a couple hundred cheaper than what the wool ended up costing ($950). So all in all, I just decided it was worth it to have something non-toxic encapsulating my house. I know there’s gross stuff in plywood and construction adhesive, etc but something about using foam insulation really annoyed me. The R-values are also pretty comparable. We’ll see how it goes… I realize I’m taking a chance with wool, since it isn’t a time-tested building insulation – at least not in stick-framed houses. But after endlessly weighing pros and cons, it felt like the right choice for me.

Holy moly, my trailer is due to arrive next week! Check out these super cute pictures of my 10-month-old niece playing with my new tiny stove. It’s a 21″ Atwood Wedgewood RV range with three burners and an oven. There was no way I was going to give up baking bread, cookies, quiches, pies, root vegetables, you-get-the-idea to live in a tiny house, so I knew from the beginning I was going to use an oven. I got this one off eBay for $283 delivered from an awesome dealer who, when the oven arrived with a severely concaved door, apologized and immediately sent out a brand new door for free. One of my top buying experiences for this house so far!

Stay tuned for more thrilling updates on window and lumber orders and navigating my way through the wondrous world of construction hardware.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

3 thoughts on “Materials en route

Leave a Reply

