The Pipsqueak!

Is this not the cutest stove you've ever seen?

Last night as I was getting lost in a torrent of tiny house blogs leading to eBay searches, I stumbled upon a fabulously adorable stove called the Pipsqueak. This is a multi-fuel (i.e. wood, coal, peat) tiny cast iron stove that weighs only 40 pounds and is marketed towards canvas tent camping and the like. It’s made by a company in Devon, England called Salamander Stoves. They produce this and another, larger stove quaintly called the Hobbit (which I found listed on eBay).

This must be the tiniest wood stove I’ve ever seen, and I must admit I’m intrigued. I was really set on using a Dickinson Newport as recommended by Tumbleweed and utilized in most tiny houses on wheels. But the cheapest I have found that heater, and its required parts, is about $1000 new. I’ve been searching for weeks on eBay/the internet for used models – to no avail so far.

I have always loved wood heat – there’s nothing like the intense, cozy warmth it produces. It would also be fabulous not to have to depend so heavily on propane, although I do plan on using propane for an instant h2o heater and possibly a kitchen oven (unless I find one of these  $1200 stoves used!). Undoubtedly, this stove has some drawbacks associated with its size. While it takes up very little room and weighs very little as far as cast iron stoves go, the firebox size would require wood to be cut up very small – thus requiring more work beforehand, and a more vigilant stoking attitude. On the other hand, its small size and efficient burning would allow me to use a lot of scrap wood, like twigs/branches, building scraps, etc.

Another big draw with this stove is the price tag. As I mentioned, the Dickinson runs about $1000 with parts on sale. The price listed on Tumbleweed is $1200. This Pipsqueak retails here for about $350 US, although I have yet to determine if they would ship to the U.S. and what that would cost. Still, even if it doubled the price, and cost a few hundred extra for a flue kit, it would still be (slightly) cheaper than a new Dickinson.

I would like to see this stove manufacturer have a dealer in the U.S.! Perhaps it’s not economical… but the only U.S.-made tiny wood stove I’ve found is this one, blogged about on other tiny house sites, and quite expensive.

Being that I’m packing and getting ready to leave for a month-long meditation course early tomorrow morning, this decision will be left for more research, more reflection, and definitely a little bit of chance once I return in the end of February. Still, this is an intriguing possibility I’m excited to have found.

I’d say about 50% of my excitement is about the super cute colors you can get this stove in, BTW. 😉

Have a great month everyone!

11 thoughts on “The Pipsqueak!

  1. Be patient with the Dickinson Newport. I found the 1200 on eBay and managed to grab it for about $600. The issue you’ll have with wood is clearance- the stove has to be a certain distance from your wall so it doesn’t get too hot. In a tiny house, this basically means your stove is sitting in the middle of the room.

    • Yes, I’ll definitely keep looking – that’s a great price you got yours for! Actually shortly after I saw your post about snagging yours, I looked on eBay and found one cheap, but it was seriously corroded from sea use. I’ll have to look in to clearances…

  2. Adorable, alright! Another problem I encountered was that I and my then 4yo daughter (as well as the cat and dog!), were exposed to carbon monoxide when I improperly installed the woodstove in my cabin years ago. So guys please use a professional installer for the important things like this…

    Annie Blair
    tinyhousewisdom.com

Leave a Reply

